•  “TEAMwork - Working Together for One Child at a Time”

    Special Education Services are available to students from ages 3 through 21 who have been diagnosed with disabilities and require specialised instruction in order to make effective progress in accessing curriculum.  Individualized special education programs (IEPs) are cooperatively developed by the student's individual planning team led by a TEAM chairperson, which includes parents, teacher, administrators and, when appropriate, a speech and language pathologiest, occupations therapist, school psychologist, and/or other specialists.  These TEAMs make every effort to provide the appropriate special education program to children in a setting as close to the regular classroom as possible. 

    Many times the Special Education process can seem confusing to parents with new language, rules, expectations and forms.  If, at any time, you have a question or concern regarding your child's progress or IEP do not hesitate to contact the Special Education TEAM Chairperson for your child's school.  Their primary role is to assist parents and staff in, and through, the Special Education process.  You may also contact the Special Education Administrator.  

    Determining Special Education Disability Eligibility

    The Special Education Department has constructed a flowchart to show the steps in determining Special Education service eligibility for your child(ren), available in English, Spanish and Portuguese:
     
     
  •  

    Contact Us

    Kathryn Silva
    Director of Student Services
    ksilva@ashland.k12.ma.us
     
    Colleen Brewer
    Administrative Assistant 
    cbrewer@ashland.k12.ma.us

    Linda Lee
    Student Services Assistant 
    llee@ashland.k12.ma.us

    Mailing Address:
    87 West Union Street
    Ashland, MA 01721

    ph: 508-881-0155
    fx:  508-881-0152
     

    Special Education
    Coordinators

    Out of District Coordinator
    Robin Wurtzel
    rwurtzel@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8055
     
    Grade Pre-K 
    Sara Davidson
    sdavidson@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-881-0160
     
    Grades K-3
    Kathryn Bent
    kbent@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8077
     
    Grades 4-7
    Jeanne Nisbet
    jnisbet@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8056   
     
    Grades 8-12
    Brittany Smeltekop
    bsmeltekop@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8020